What is the Internet?

Azeiza Hamza
2 min readSep 12, 2020

--

To me, the internet is a wonderful, scary, mesmerizing place. The internet’s growth over the last few decades is an amazing feat on its own. The internet is not only on our computers but also on our phones and TVs and smart devices. One thing I like about the internet is that you can achieve and do almost anything. I think the internet is a place where dreams can come true.

The internet can store important work files, allow you to communicate with family, and can help you buy something you need in only a few clicks. My favorite part of the internet is that it can help you find yourself and allow you to grow as a person. If it wasn’t for the internet and websites like Pinterest, Tumblr, and even Wattpad, I never would have discovered my favorite TV shows, figured out what genre of books I enjoy, and found a style of clothing that I like. Through the internet, I was also able to find online friends and have connections with people who live thousands of miles away from me.

I don’t think the internet is alive in the sense that you and I are, however, it is alive in a different way. Hundreds of thousands of people are on the internet at the same time every day and use it for various purposes. I like how the internet can grant an artist a platform to promote their work or help an aspiring author self publish their novel. It can help a new mom figure out the best way for her to parent her child. The internet can also be a great place to entertain yourself and procrastinate your work, after all, Buzzfeed quizzes are addicting.

One drawback of the internet is how scary it can be. Stranger danger went from being a phrase used to caution kids about talking to strangers in the park to a phrase that is also used when cautioning who you interact with on the internet. It’s a little alarming how the internet can use what you do and where you spend your time on it to show you catered ads that might convince you to waste your money on an unnecessary product. I don’t like how semi addicted I’ve become to the internet. Sometimes when I feel like there’s nothing else to do, I find myself adding things I know I won’t purchase to my cart, scrolling through Tik Tok for hours, or even just playing online games when I know I could spend my time doing something more productive.

I think the internet has a million different definitions and it all depends on who you’re talking to. It is both a blessing and a curse and it’s up to each individual user to find out how to best spend their time on it.

Photo by Ludovic Toinel on Unsplash

--

--